Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

In a far west corner of Canada, tucked away on the little Vancouver Island, is a place with big spirit: Butchart Gardens. Butchart is truly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been to. It’s not only full of flowers but full of life. I love wandering through the various paths, smelling each and every rose along the way. I enjoy the vibrancy of the plants and flowers that surround you when in the gardens. I love juxtaposition of the nature’s flowers growing out of the human’s mining carts.

It’s hard to believe as I walk past the colorful flower beds that this area was once a giant limestone quarry. You see, the guy who used to own this land was Robert Butchart. He and his business partner mined the limestone to make their Portland cement. After they finished with the limestone, the land was basically a giant hole in the ground. However, Butchart’s wife, Jennie, had a brilliant plan. She painstakingly transformed the old quarry into what is know the Sunken Garden. Other gardens followed like the Japanese Garden, the Rose Garden, and the Italian Garden. Every color ever imagined is present for your eye to behold. I must have hundreds of photos that I’ve taken over my two trips here.

Butchart Gardens may very well be one of the few places where I actually relax. No hurrying, no planning, no death marching. No, I haven’t taken my husband here yet! I’m certainly planning on getting back to Butchart with him in tow.        Maybe soon.

